In The Beginning

I first became homeless in February 1982, and have been in and out of homelessness ever since. My current episode of homelessness is now in its 3rd year.

I created this blog 2 years ago, and it became propular almost immediately. It was a case of being in the right place at the right time. Homeless people have been maintaining websites since the web began. My made my first homeless website back in 1997 on geocities – long before the advent of blogs. When I started this blog in 2002, blogs in general were enjoying a burst of popularity, especially with the press. There have been articles about this blog in newspapers around the world, including USA Today, Associated Press, Salon.Com, The Guardian, and The Tennessean. Much of the initial fame has subsided, but the blog still recieves some 10,000 visitors a month.

Most people perceive the homeless as being insignificant. Yet, this blog has changed that, and more, for me. This blog has become part of my identity, though I hesitate to say that anyone can really judge me by my blog. It is only a part of me. And, there is an opportunity to use this blog to raise myself to a higher standard, to a higher calling, and to allow myself to become the voice of the homeless. No thanks. It really isn’t my responsiblity, nor is it actually possible for any one person to speak for such a diverse group of people. This blog is about me, what I think, what I feel, what I want to say to the rest of the annoymous world. (And as always, if you don’t like what I have to say, or the way I say it, there are 7 million other blogs you can read.

There are other homeless blogs out there. Some are really good, some are really bad. If you want to understand homelessness, if you want to understand homeless people, then you need to expose yourself to all of them. Read all the homeless blogs – though be aware that some claiming a knowledge of homelessness are false – but more than that, you should expose yourself to all the many kinds of homeless people, not just those few who blog.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless

One comment

  1. Pingback: Periodismo Ciudadano

Comments are closed.


Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,199 other followers

