Alone Again Naturally

She blew into my life like a hurricane. She shook me up like an earthquake. My life as I knew it was destroyed, and I loved her for it. But for all their magnitude, earthquakes and hurricanes don’t last very long. The land becomes still again. The wind subsides. And I find myself alone.

I try to convince myself that it was for the best. As much good as she did for me, we had vastly different ideas of how a relationship should be defined.

It takes a while getting used to being alone. But once some one comes into your otherwise quiet life, filling your days and your thoughts, you gladly open yourself up to the new. But, when she leaves, the process of getting used to being alone has to start all over again. It is a painful process. I still long to see her, I check for emails way too often.

I’ve been through this before, I know how it goes. I accept it, although I don’t much like it.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
