Some Facts About My Homelessness

  • I first became homeless in February 1982.
  • I have been in and out of homelessness ever since.
  • I have had several separate episodes of homelessness, ranging in length of just a few months, to several years.
  • In the past 27 years since first becoming homeless I have spent about half of that time, some 13 years, literally homeless.
  • I have mental health issues of depression and social anxiety, with a possible connect with Asperger’s syndrome.
  • I lived in nearly every possible homeless situation. I have lived in a car, in and around the streets of downtown Nashville, in a rescue mission, in a St Vincent de Paul shelter, in the Salvation Army, in Room in The Inn. I have also couched surfed, and I’ve lived in a halfway house.
  • In 1998 I created a short lived homeless newspaper.
  • In August of 2002 I began blogging here about my personal homeless experiences, and perspectives of homelessness.
  • In 2004 I was appointed by Mayor Purcell to his Task Force on Homelessness.
  • And in 2005 I was appointed by the mayor to the Metro Homelessness Commission that was created by that Task Force.
  • In 2007 I helped to create The Contributor, Nashville’s current homeless newspaper.
About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
