Facts About Homelessness

I am encouraged that so many people want to know about homelessness. I am saddened that I have very little concrete information to report. I have seen many people Google search “Homeless Facts.” And so I have too. What I find are many websites reporting different, if not contradictory, information. The problem with finding the “facts” about homelessness is that homelessness is constantly changing. Although a river is a river, you can never step into the same river twice. The same can be said of homelessness. Different people, different conditions, different public responses, all have an effect on the make up of homelessness. So often when searching news reports on homelessness I can find on the very same day a report in one city of a new homeless shelter being opened in response to the growing homeless population, and a report in another city of a homeless shelter being shut down in response to the growing homeless population. Shelter Closing, Shelter Opening.

Despite all that I know about homelessness from my many years experience, there are only a few things I can say for certain. The first is that, despite people’s best efforts to end homelessness, the total number of homeless people in the United States is growing, and that there are not enough services and shelters to take care of all the homeless people and their individual needs.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless

One comment

  1. It was -6 degrees, not unusual for February in Detroit. I was living in a makeshift shelter under the I-75 service drive between 8 mile and John R. What were my reasons for this? Well, in spite of the fact that I am possessed of marketable skills, I am also possessed of a horrendous substance abuse problem. I had spent the last 3 years living outside, and occasionally, when I could put the drugs and booze down, in shelters. From first hand experience I can attest to the psychological trauma which manifests in the chronically homeless individual. Regardless of the reason, be it alcoholism or economic hardship; there are deep effects to confidence, self image, and interpersonal relationships which take a tremendous amount of perseverance to overcome. At this point in time I have lived in my house for 3 years, been employed for 4 tears, and am a psychology major at an accredited university. So I can also attest that while difficult, overcoming homelessness is not impossible. while feeding and sheltering the homeless is a worthy endeavor, lets try to get into the mindset of dealing with the root problems and resulting patterns of thinking: thereby truly changing lives for the better.

    Like

Comments are closed.

