A New Subtitle

For years my subtitle to this blog has been “There is more to homeless people than being homeless.” It has served me surprisingly well. But now this blog is making a shift in direction, or really, I am.

For many many years my efforts have been focused on showing people the realities of homelessness, of breaking the stereotypes that plague the homeless. Now, I am going after the institutions, and the institutionalized thinking that perpetuates homelessness. For so long I have thought about the walls dividing the homeless and the non-homeless as attempts by society to keep the homeless out, excommunicated if you will, from the rest of society’s many and great doings. But now, I see these walls, not as keeping the homeless out, but of keeping the homeless in, corralled, in a jail held and kept segregated from the rest of society.

My intention is now to draw attention to this metaphorical, and often literal, imprisoning of the homeless. And to work towards tearing down the walls that keep the homeless away from the rest of society.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
