Tomorrow Is My Birthday

Tomorrow is my birthday, I’ll be turning 50 years old. Wow, that’s such a big number. A number belonging to old people, grumpy bosses or nosey mother-in-laws. But there is nothing typical about me. I know.

I see pictures on FB of all the get-togethers, celebrations, birthday parties. People smiling, happy, being near each other, talking and telling jokes. Enjoying life. There will be no birthday party for me tomorrow. There never has been. I don’t draw people to myself in a way that inspires them to do such things.

Ten years ago, on my fortieth birthday, I worked. At the end of the work day I asked my few co workers if they wanted to go do something. They all declined. So I went by myself to a strip club. A strange thing happened there. It must have fallen out of someone’s pocket earlier, but in the darkness and strobe lights I found 3 one hundred dollar bills folded up in a chair near the stage. I didn’t leave that place until most of that money was spent.

I have no plans for tomorrow. I won’t be going to a strip club this time. At my age now there’s not much point. But who knows, I might get lucky, somehow.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless

One comment

  1. Belated greeting, with wishes that this is the start of your best year yet. 50 is not too old; just wait till you hit 60. Yet all those years on the street may have taken a toll on your body, that homed people do not experience.

    I have never had to diet for weight loss; but have read that it is best to lose slowly, the same way as it was put on, one pound at a time. So many friends through the years, are enthusiastic when they have started new diets, and soon fall off that wagon.

    It truly takes a lot of effort and time to change eating habits we developed as a child. One of your comments said it: do not want to feel deprived, which somehow causes a jump back to habits trying to break. (ate 1/2 slice of large slice of cake, rather than no cake at all)

    Like

Comments are closed.

