Odd Turn Of Events

I usually hate this place. Now I’m not much for leaving it.

This morning I had my yearly recertification meeting with MDHA, the government agency that supervises my housing, and so I’m good to live in my place for another year.

I’ve been wanting to move out of here for some time, mostly because of my neighbors. My apartment is very small, but I can live with it because the convenient location more than makes up for the size of it. Yet in the past month or so, two of the worst neighbors have gone. One died and the other is wanted by the police, so he won’t be coming back any time soon. I lost one other neighbor from the building, but he was extremely quiet, I’m sorry to see him go. So, with the exception of one noisy neighbor who occasionally argues loudly with imaginary foes, my place is very do-able. Hopefully, whoever they move in, to the empty units, will be respectful if not completely quiet neighbors. Right now, it’s not so bad being here.

I was told that no new applications for housing vouchers were being accepted at this time, so it would be near impossible for me to move out of here for another apartment building any time soon anyway. So, here I am, and here I’ll be, for the foreseeable future.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
