MetaFilter

I recently tried, and failed, to find this mention on Metafilter, but checking my site meter today I found that someone had followed a link from it to my blog. I back tracked the link and there it was. It was this short mention on MetaFilter that launched my internet popularity, a popularity that has now all but faded from memory.

http://www.metafilter.com/20013/The-Homeless-Guy-Weblog (look at the date of that post).

The comments start out pretty harsh, and even nine years later it still hurts to read them. But as the conversation in the comment section continues, a certain amount of balance of opinions is achieved.

Nine years ago only a very small fraction of the world’s population knew about blogs. I started blogging in the later part of 2002. In 2003, when Google took over Blogger, Blogger was responsible for about 250,000 of the net’s total blogs. In 2009 Blogger had 300,000,000 regular users. Add to that total all the Myspace, and Livejournal and WordPress users, and some 500 million active Facebook users today. (Yes, Facebook is a form of blogging, at least in my book it is.) http://www.facebook.com/press/info.php?statistics

We’ve all come a long way since those early days. So has many people’s understanding of homelessness. Still, there are a lot of haters in the world. Homeless people still face an incredible uphill battle.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
