A Bunch Of Hippy Christians

These hippy Christians think they can actually help homeless people. They created an organization called “Open Table Nashville” which you can read more about at their blog http://amoshouse.wordpress.com/ Here is what they are doing.
~~~~

(ADDENDUM) I forget how little people understand my sense of humor, which is often chocked full of irony and underlying social commentary – such as my opening sentence on this blog. It is my hope that people would be clever enough to read between the lines and see that by my act of listing all the work these people are doing, and providing their contact information, etc., I am actually attempting to support their efforts. Yes, I have Aspergers Syndrome, so I admit my brain works differently than the “typical” brain. Y’all will just have to try and keep up with me.

~~~~
VOLUNTEER TRAINING

We will be hosting two volunteer trainings for anyone interested in learning more about what we do here at Open Table Nashville and how you can get involved. Both trainings will be held at Hillcrest United Methodist Church:
5112 Raywood Lane Nashville TN 37211
September 24th from 9AM – 11AM OR
September 25th from 5PM – 7PM
Until then, here are some opportunities for you to consider!

HOBSON HOUSE

Hobson House is home to up to 15 individuals who are in transition from homelessness to being self-sustainable in permanent housing. If you would like to get involved, you can sign up to spend a night as an “Inn Keeper” or cook a meal through our CareCalendar.
Carecalerdar.org (Login- 45351 Password- 6077) http://www.carecalendar.org/

MENTORS

We believe that homelessness in rooted in the disintegration of community around a person, we want to be able to build community back up through strong relationships. We try to offer each member of the Hobson House (and other of our friends) with a mentor, someone who is willing to enter into friendship with them, and to journey with them.

OUTREACH

On Monday evenings Open Table is going to be headed downtown to serve alongside People Loving Nashville. Open Table will have a table set up to talk with folks, connect them with resources, and help them receive birth certificates, IDs, foodstamps, cell phones, and clothes. We hope that in the process relationships will be built. We will meet behind the War Memorial at 7PM.

FURNITURE

We are looking for a team of 8-10 committed volunteers to help us operate our furniture ministry. This team would be responsible for picking up donated furiture and then delivering it to individuals or familes that have recently moved into housing for the first time. Ideally, in sets of 2, member of the team would rotate weeks so that each person only runs furniture once a month. We do ask that these volunteers have a vehicle with a hitch that could pull our furniture trailor.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless

3 comments

  1. I see 🙂 Sometimes sarcasm and tongue in cheek don't come across well. I, myself, tend to use sarcasm a lot (and I like to play the devil's advocate too) so I know too well how it isn't always taken correctly.

    Like

  2. tongue in cheek, my dear, tongue in cheek.

    Like

  3. I'm not sure I understand what your problem with them is? Sounds like useful outreach to me. If someone doesn't appreciate it, they don't have to accept the assistance.

    Like

Comments are closed.

