Why I Write What I Do

Politics and religion have a profound impact on homelessness. So, I write about them. Homeless people are injured people, injured beyond their own ability to recover. Like people who have been in a car crash and suffered serious injuries, they need the assistance of others, to have their injuries looked after, and to be given time to heal. People respond to those in a car crash by sending an ambulance, transporting the injured to a hospital where they are treated by professionals, and are given time to heal. Homeless people, on the other hand, are left to languish in the misery of their injuries on the side of the road, and the only response they get from others is to be spit on and kicked about, and told that since they are the cause of their own injuries that they must heal themselves.

This attitude of society’s towards homeless people is simply a great lack of compassion for fellow human beings. A lack of compassion that is spurred on, in large part, by our political and religious leaders. Yes, even many so called Christians believe it’s best to withhold compassion from people in need.

So, it is that I write about such topics. It may not be the sort of thing people want to read concerning homelessness. But as I’ve learned from my many years homeless, most people have no real concern for the homeless anyway.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
