Another Bullshit Night In Suck City

It is the best first person account of homelessness I’ve ever read. No, the author was not homeless himself, although he did come close to it. The story is about the author’s relationship with his father who was homeless. One night, while the author was working at a homeless shelter (a public shelter, not a “mission”), his estranged father came into the shelter looking for a place to stay for the night.

Another Bullshit Night In Suck City

The author, Nick Flynn, is an accomplished writer. And his talents as a writer come through in this book. More than any other book I’ve read about homelessness, this one, with it’s particular literary style, creates the “feel” of homelessness.

The book was eventually picked up for a movie, and I found out today that the movie has been completed and is scheduled to hit the theaters in 2012. Considering Robert De Niro plays the homeless father, I have high hopes for it. It’s easy to misrepresent homelessness. I’ve got my fingers crossed for something good.

Yes, I too wondered what they would do about the title of the movie. I doubt that theaters would want the word “bullshit” on their marquees. They changed the title to, “Being Flynn“.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless

2 comments

  1. …I read it too , and read of the movie – Guess it's In like Flynn !!!!!!! – Yeah , I presumed a title change:-)…

    Like

  2. If the movie is anything like the book it should be a classic. Pretty sure I read it after you posted something about it a while back.

    Like

Comments are closed.

