The Homeless Guy Needs A New Laptop

My current laptop I’ve had for over 4 years, and I got it from the refurbished bin at Dell.com. It is old and is having difficulty keeping up with the ever changing and increasing demands of the internet. As you may know, I pretty much live on the internet. I’ve put this Dell Vostro through a lot, and I worry that it will not last much longer.

Upgrading to a new/er laptop will assure that “the homeless guy” continues to be around for years to come, educating the masses about the realities of homelessness, from the unique perspective of a homeless person.

Among the things I want to add to the blog is video. I got myself a new Flipcam recently. It takes great HD images. Now I need a laptop that can actually handle the additional burden of editing and loading those larger, more complex, files.

For my part, I will continue blogging, and I will continue selling The Contributor, so to afford all the other necessities of life, rent, food, etc.

This is the computer I’m shooting for – if by the end of June I still don’t have enough money for it, I’ll get the best thing I can afford with your donations.

MacBook Pro
15″ 2.4GHz quad-core Intel Core i7
-4GB memory
-750GB hard drive
-SD Card Slot | 7 Hr Battery | SuperDrive
-Intel HD Graphics 3000 & AMD Radeon HD 6770M with 1GB GDDR5

Your help is appreciated beyond measure.

Thanks in advance,

Kevin – The (formerly) Homeless Guy

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless

4 comments

  1. Actually the only difference between a Mac and a PC now is the OS. 25 years ago there might have been a reason to use Apple.

    The Mac is much more limited in it's video offerings than the PC because Apple is the only one producing them, hence less to choose from. Unless you really like OS X more than Windows 7 you can save a lot of money by avoiding Apple's premium price for the same hardware.

    These days it's preference and some people like to justify the reason why they paid so much more for the Apple than the PC.

    Erik

    Like

  2. Hi Kevin,

    I edit all of my video with AVS4YOU on a PC. I paid Online Media Technologies Ltd $59 (watch for sales – still going on right now!) for my “Unlimited” license (good for as many years as I have this computer), and it suffices just fine. I wouldn't use it to produce movies or MTV videos, but it is easily 20x more robust than could be needed by any average vlogger, and the learning curve is very gentle. License the whole 18 Tools Suite in one purchase because you'll probably be using more than one program in the suite, so individual components are a waste of $$. I have even used it to produce professional conference presentation videos.

    Save yourself $1000 and buy a PC. Then you can spend a little of the saved dough on an external storage drive and/or online storage so that you don't lose years of data if your C drive crashes or corrupts.

    Like

  3. Hi Scott, can you quantify that for me? Following industry leaders, bloggers, vloggers, etc., I get the impression that Macs offer better functionality, especially in video editing.

    Like

  4. why a mac? you can get so much more for your money if you stay with PC

    Like

Comments are closed.

