Wreck-It Ralph and Homelessness

Oh my goodness! Have you seen the movie “Wreck-It Ralph“? No? Why not? Cause it’s some Disney kiddy show? Well, with that kind of attitude, you’re going to miss out on a lot of good and important stuff. I was blown away by the movie, and if you give it some consideration, I think you’d be blow away too.   I am including Wreck-It Ralph in my list of best movies on the subject of homelessness.

After seeing the movie the first time, I decided to do some research on it. I checked out several reviews of the movie, including what people said about it on rottentomatoes.com To my disappointment, no one saw in the movie what I did. But, that’s kind of par for the course when society is confronted with the homeless and disenfranchised. Either they don’t really recognize it for what it is, or the subject is beyond their comprehension and so choose to ignore it. It seems that everyone’s perspective on the movie is trapped in the idea that the movie is about video games and video game characters. But truth be told, the subject of video games is just the device used to tell the story of homelessness, and of the disenfranchised.

 The movie is an allegory, using video games and video game characters to represent different people in society, including the homeless, the real world they live in, and the difficulties they face.   Ralph is isolated socially from his community, though he desires nothing more than to be included.   Not fully understanding what it would take for him to be accepted by his community, Ralph gets the idea that if only he won a hero’s medal, then the people of his community would come to accept him, and include him.  So, Ralph goes out on a hapless quest to attain said hero’s medal.   Along the way, we meet other characters and watch scenarios unfold that expound on the issues of homelessness – how the homeless are disenfranchised from their communities, and how they try to resolve their issues.  By the end of the movie, Ralph learns several lessons about himself, what it truly means to be content with himself and with others.  And so too do the other characters in Ralph’s community learn to accept Ralph for who he is, finding value in what and who Ralph is – extended to him the community he’s always desired.

I hope you can see the movie again, and watch it in light of the perspective that the movie is indeed an allegory on homelessness.  I’m sure you’ll find it a much more enlightening and entertaining movie.   The movie is now available on DVD – I found it in Red Box.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
