I Arrive In Washington DC

Well, it’s been quite the day.  Woke up at 5:15am, giving me time to shower, dress, eat breakfast, (spaghetti), and make a final check of things to take.  I then hiked the 1.5 miles from my apartment to the downtown Nashville Bus Terminal, rode said bus to the airport, went threw the nerve racking TSA screening process (yes, I’m slow at putting my shoes back on, get over it.), and then I waited 2 hours for my flight.  The flight was less than 2 hours.  It was a smooth flight but it still wears me out, flying.  I fear that any move I make on the plane could cause it to come crashing down to the ground, (a heavy responsibility, I know.)  Then we landed at Reagan Intl Airport, took a little bus ride from the plane to the terminal.  Then it was through the terminal to the metro rail.    I need to take a picture of the machine people have to use to buy a ticket for the metro, but it’s crazy hard to figure out.  Thankfully someone helped me a little there.  Then I rode the Metro Yellow Line and got off in China Town which is also (or right next to) downtown.  I then walked the two blocks to the hotel.  Since I had a few hours before registration for the event,  I checked in to the hotel, took a shower, and then went for a walk around the neighborhood.  Got 1/2 block from the hotel and met my first DC homeless person. (pictured below).  It’s hard to see in the photo, but his little camp was very clean.  He had a couple blankets and pillows stretched out, the porch was just big enough for him to stretch out on. I gave him a dollar for letting me take the photo.  (if you are going to make use of a photo op like this, be sure to always compensate the person.)

I then walked on to the Smithsonian Museum of American Art.  After a short visit there, I found a McDonalds, 11 hours since I ate breakfast, (always hold on to those McD gift cards, they can be life savers).  Then I walked back to the hotel and did the registration.   There is A LOT to read, and I want to be as prepped as possible.  It’s time for me to learn about the other side of homelessness.  I know all about being homeless, now I want to get seriously involved in helping end it.   The conference begins tomorrow.  Read about it at https://help.endhomelessness.org/events/27

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
