Becoming Organized

For the past 10+ years, I have been an online advocate for the homeless.   When not creating blog posts here, I spend time in other discussion groups, chat rooms, comment sections, etc.   Always relaying to others as much truth about homelessness as I can – always combating the myth believers and the myth creators.    So many people are actively speaking disparagingly about the homeless.  It is as if they are aware of the sympathy that many people have for homeless people, and they are purposely fighting against it.   Well, you know I can’t stand for that to happen, and so I engage these people, doing what I can to expose such people and their hatefulness, and ignorance.

Doing so has it’s merits, but it seems to also be a trap.  Why spend so much time and energy arguing with people who may never change their minds, when I could be out actually doing the things I talk about.  I need to transition from talker to do-er.  I’d probably be more productive that way.

I say, let the debaters debate, while they are distracted so, just go ahead and get the homeless off the streets and into viable housing.   While they yammer away about homelessness, I and others will actually be ending homelessness.   When they finally come up for air, they’ll discover that this issue they’ve been getting all riled up about, has gone.

So yeah, I need to reorganize my online activity – use the internet for communication, and for planning the day, then leave the laptop behind while I actually go out and do things.     I’ve been living the same way for many many years – this change won’t be easy, won’t happen over night.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
