Not Socks

For the past few days I’ve been asking, pleading, with people to donate socks to the homeless.  Of the multitude of people who read this blog, a total of one person answered the call.    I don’t know what the problem is, but obviously, I’m not the “inspiring people to help the homeless” guy.  Guess I’ll leave that up to someone else.

If I’m not mistaken, I was the first person on the internet to mention the need homeless people have for socks.  That was 11 years ago.   Now, there are full and legitimate non-profit organizations dedicated to nothing put getting socks to the homeless.   Just google “socks for the homeless” to see what I mean.  And many homeless service providers around the country offer foot clinics now, when there were none 11 years ago.

So, maybe my impact on the sock wearing community of homeless people was bigger than I assume.    Could I take credit for all that?  Yeah, why not?

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
