Small Steps Require Big Effort

I was reminded to day of just how much time and effort it takes to perform even simple errands or chores, when you’re homeless.

I found a laundrymat on 4th Ave and was able to wash my change of clothes.  That took half the day.  But that was a big step forward because it’s good info for the future.  It definitely moves me forward.

The rest of the day, I tried to find something, a shower facility that used to be located at a particular beach, only to discover it no longer exists.  The effort does go into the ‘fail’ category, but it wasn’t a complete lose.  I rode the tolley and bus today, to get around town.  So I’m learning more about the city and what I need to know about this place.

My feet are developing blisters – not as bad as the last time I came out here, so I’m still able to walk around – still, my feet hurt.  Well my legs hurt too, much like they did after I’d run a half marathon.   The beaches and the bay are full of people celebrating the labor day weekend.  People here celebrate it much more intensely than they do in Nashville.  Then again, Nashville doesn’t have a coast full of beaches.

I haven’t slept in over 40 hours.  I haven’t showered in that long either.  It’s like I’m homeless or something.

Oh yeah.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
