Three Hours Of Sleep And I’m Grateful

Hooray, I got a little sleep last night, all while sleeping on the sidewalk outside the Salvation Army – 3 hours worth.   I would have been able to sleep more, but an old drunk couple decided to sit right next to me as I slept, and have an inebriated conversation until the sun came up.   At one point, the woman yelled, “If she gave you scabies, I’m going to kill the bitch.”

Still, the three hours of sleep felt like 6.  And, though I’m not completely rested up, I feel better today than I did yesterday.

I have two nickel sized blisters on the bottom of my left foot, and an oblong shaped blister on the side of my right foot.  My lower legs, shins, ankles and feet are stiff and sore.  I’m not taking any big strides right now..  A few days off my feet and I should be fine.  That’s “if” I can find a way to stay off my feet.

I need to get myself a large beach towel, so the cops will think I’m just another citizen at the beach, and not a beach bum.  Then I can relax in the sand for a while.

Being a holiday, I expect that nothing is happening at the shelters in town, but tomorrow they should be open.  It’ll be interesting to see what they offer.   I haven’t seen any outreach workers on the streets, but I haven’t seen any cops harassing the homeless, either.

I’m currently in a Starbucks. (thank you for the free wifi).   I just noticed on the door that this particular establishment opens at 4:30am.   Good to know.  Now I don’t have to walk a mile just to urinate in the mornings.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
