Homeless In San Diego

Some people have inquired, so I imagine many are curious.  Yes, I am in San Diego.  No, I didn’t come here for the weather, although the weather over all is nice.   I was born and raised here.   When I found out that I’d be homeless again, I realized that I didn’t have to be homeless where I was, but that I could be homeless anywhere.   I have been missing San Diego for some time.  Being now in my 50’s, this yearning to go back home feels natural.  I know my father, the closer he got to retirement, the more he desired to go home to Cincinnati where most of his family lived.  Sure, I’ve only been in San Diego for 3+ days, but I’m not missing Nashville.   The ocean is here, and since being back, I’ve looked over the waters a couple times.  But so far, I’ve spent the majority of my time within the confines of downtown and it’s many large and tall buildings.   The Metropolitan area here is no different than any other.

It’s about 20 minutes till 8am here in San Diego on the 4th day of living on the streets.  Soon I’ll make my way to homeless services facilities to what they provide.  Blisters on my feet still make walking painful.  And all the excessive walking I’ve done these few days, have stiffened up my calves.  It takes walking a couple blocks for the muscles to loosen up enough that they become somewhat usable.

Again, I got about 3 and 1/2 hours of sleep last night.  As I sit here in Starbucks, the nods come and go.  As soon as I fall asleep, I go into a dream state.  When I awake, it takes a few seonds for me to determine which state of mind is “awake”.  Usually, in the dream state I’m trying to put some thing in order.  No wonder I have a talent for logistics. ha.

First, I should get something to eat.   Starbucks coffee on an empty stomach is not good for me.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
