Emotional Blackmail

A personal aside:

Emotional Blackmail is something I’m keen on, I had to deal with it often as a kid. It was what my mother used to create her own personal emotional safe zone. I know all the tricks and I can spot it coming a mile off. Emotional blackmail contributed a good deal to my own screwed up emotional state. Now that I have become aware of it, I get pissed when someone tries to use it on me.

If you’re not familiar, emotional blackmail is when someone uses an emotional display, or threatens an emotional display, as a means of controling or manipulating others. Often it comes across simply as, “you have made me sad, therefore, you owe me.”

As the saying goes, “Homie don’t play dat.” 

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
