Still Sick And Homeless

Having a cold is no fun, having a cold in the summer is less fun, having a cold in the summer while you’re homeless is the third level of hell.   Being exposed to the elements and sleeping outside on concrete will only make whatever illness you have that much worse.   Fearing that I could come down with Pneumonia, I tapped into my meager funds and got a room for the night – which I stayed in last night.   Night before last I got zero sleep.   The place where I was trying to sleep, (outside a salvation army office building), had become crowded.   Not only did all my coughing and sneezing and nose blowing keep me from getting sleep, it was obviously disturbing all the other people around me who were also trying to get some sleep.    Last thing I need is to get into a fight.   By about 2:30am I walked over to a 24hr Subway sandwich place, got a drink and a couple cookies and stayed there until about 5am.   There I did the one thing I knew I shouldn’t have done.  I fell asleep in my chair.   One of girls working there woke me up, to tell me I wasn’t allowed to sleep there.  Not only is it embarrassing, it could cause them to decide to not allow me back into the place.   And I need all the resources I can get.

Then I walked down to the Starbucks, ordered a large coffee and got online.  I eventually contacted my old high school friend and she agreed to help me with getting some things for my cold, herbal medicines, Sudafed, etc.  She took me to a Wal-Mart and I got some more socks, too.   Afterwards she dropped me off at the motel.  I spent the rest of the day resting.  Got some good sleep.  Took two showers.  When homeless I never feel completely clean and I don’t like that feeling.   This morning check out was at noon.  After check out I used the motel’s laundry facilities.

This cold I have seems almost like an allergy.   Tonight I really must try to get into a shelter.  We’ll see how that goes.   Now I must find something to eat.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
