Alpha Project San Diego

Alpha Project operates a shelter for homeless people in San Diego within a huge tent that can sleep over 200.   Once a homeless person is given a bed, it is designated as their bed, either for the duration of the winter season, or they forfeit the bed by not showing up in time for the 8:00pm bed check.

If anyone does not make it to the 8:00pm bed check, their belongings are gathered up and placed in plastic bags until the person comes to claim their possessions.    All available beds are tallied and reassigned  to those waiting outside the gate, hoping to get a bed.

The first night I waited outside at the gate was this past Sunday.   On that evening 3 women and 9 men waited.   There were no open beds for that night, everyone was sent away.   I have gone to the gate each night since.  Each night there are even more people waiting in hopes of a bed.   Each night their were no beds available.

Tonight, though, 4 people did get in, 2 women and 2 men.  That is out of the 35 homeless people who waited at the gate.

I have 6 days to go before my assessment at the St Vincent de Paul center, where I think my chances of getting a permanent bed with them are very good. 

My cold symptoms are fading.  That’s a good thing.   I’m tired.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
