A Homeless Guy Update

Ok Ok, yeah I know I’ve been slacking off with the blog.  Last month I was posting more than once a day, this month I have only posted 9 times in the past 20 days.   That’s not what I intended.  It’s just that things come up and I get distracted.  And really, as much as I am driven to advocate for the homeless, there are other things to do as well.   As I have often proclaimed “there is more to homeless people than being homeless.”   There are some TV shows that I like.   I don’t have a tv, but I do have streaming Netflix.   I don’t have many friends in San Diego, but when I get a chance to do something with one of my friends, I’m gonna do it.  Like yesterday, I attended a meeting of the Comic Con volunteers.  My friend from high school volunteers each year at Comic Con and she took me to the meeting.   If I attend enough meetings and stay a member in good standing, then I’ll be able to work Comic Con next year – that means being able to attend Comic Con too.   Homeless people are just as diverse as the rest of the population.  They are Democrats and Republicans, they are sports fans who support their favorite teams, some are readers while others like to watch movies.   Some have musical interests.   Some never work because of a disability, some work 80 hours a week.   Some cannot read or write while others have completed post Doctoral work.    So, please be careful with your generalizations of homeless people, and know that there is no 100% of anything regarding the homeless.

Saturday, I attended an a meeting of, I guess you’d call them, “homeless advocates.”  They are people who are interested, not just in helping the homeless, but also with moving the conversation about homelessness forward – mostly with the idea  of one day bringing homelessness to an end.   There were 5 people at this meeting besides myself.  Some work as service providers, others are interested in homelessness for personal reasons.   The conversation was very positive, everyone had a wealth of knowledge to share, and everyone was interested in seeing what the group could do to positively affect homelessness.    We all recognize that the subject at hand is big and complex, and working towards the end of homelessness is going to be a daunting task, but we all agreed that bringing homelessness to an end is a very real possibility.    We will be meeting again next month.  If you are interested in attending, you can email me for more information.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
