The Good Earth by Pearl S. Buck

As the saying goes, “Sometimes you find books, sometimes books find you.”   I have found this to be true of many of the books I’ve read.   And it is true of this book, “The Good Earth”.   I am about 1/3 of the way through the book and I am already in love with this story, and the way it is told.

I have occasionally asked people for recommendations of books to read, especially concerning homelessness, but no one has ever suggested this book.  Yes, a major theme of this book is homelessness, although it is much more than a story of homelessness – it is about life.  But of the recommendations made to me, this book was never among them.

I don’t want to give away the story, so I won’t.  But this book is called “a classic” and it certainly lives up to that proclamation.   It will go in my list of books to read about homelessness.   On amazon.com, this book is listed as being on the Oprah Book Club list, and is called a “contemporary classic”, but know that it was first written in 1931.   (A time when books were written mostly to tell the truth, not to forward an agenda.)

Hmm.   I haven’t written out a list of books to read in a long time.  I wonder what all I could remember right now.

Of course the very first book I read, that wasn’t a children’s book, was, “Jonathan Livingston Seagull”. And that certainly was about homelessness.

1. Jonathan Livingston Seagull (an allegorical metaphysical metaphor)
2. Cannery Row
3. Tortilla Flat
4. Being Flynn (Another Bullshit Night In Suck City)
5. The Double Bind
6. Under The Overpass (A Christian themed book, but very much worth reading, regardless)
7. The Soloist
8. The Grapes of Wrath
9. Down and Out in Paris and London
10. The Good Earth

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
