A Year In San Diego

I have now been in San Diego over a year.  Actually the anniversary almost got by me.  I returned to San Diego on Sept 1st 2013.  Now it’s Sept 7th 2014.

I did think that by this time I would have found myself a place to live off the streets, but I’m still just as homeless as ever.  So it goes with the best laid plans.

Despite this, I have learned a great deal over the past year.  Having something to compare Nashville’s homeless scene with helps me to understand both scenes – neither of which are really very good scenes – regardless of some of the advances made in homeless care in both cities – overall they both suck ass.  As has been the case for oh these many many years, people try to help the homeless by giving what they feel like giving to the homeless, instead of taking the time to find out what the homeless truly need and giving that.  And for whatever reason, most everyone stops short of actually meeting the needs of the homeless.

I’ve been in a real funk lately, hard to find a reason for continuing on.  I’ve lost all momentum.   That has happened I think because the more I learn about my condition of Aspergers, the more bleak the future appears.

As the saying goes, “people hear what they want to hear, and disregard the rest.”  I see this all the time and it is discouraging.  Makes me think that all this writing is a waste of time.  And without this blog, what do I have?

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
