It’s Hot In San Diego

For about 2 weeks or so, in San Diego, the weather is uncomfortably hot.   San Diego has a unique climate and terrain that, when working together, creates some of the most beautiful weather in the world.   But if just one thing or another is missing from the equation, the weather can become ugly.  A lot of it has to do with the ocean breeze.   When the sun is beating down on the city, the usually constant ocean breeze calms things down and it feels good.  Get to an area of the town without the breeze and you’ll be sweating it.

   Urban camping isn’t all it’s cracked up to be as a tent will easily hold back the breeze and the occupants will suffer.  There is also the heat that’s been building up in the concrete that radiates back up into the tent the whole night. When I am able to sleep, I’m still sweating away.  When I get up in the morning the ocean breeze usually isn’t blowing so even when I get out the tent and walk up the hill to McDonalds for breakfast I’m sweating the entire way.  Once at McDonalds I have to make a bee line to the restroom to sponge down, so to feel somewhat normal again.

I doesn’t help either, that most of the businesses, restaurants, coffee shops aren’t running their air conditioning.  McDonalds is the only place I’ve found that has decent A/C and just barely at that.   Come on folks, it’s San Diego. It’s not like you have much use of your A/C to begin with.  Go ahead and splurge for two weeks.  Your employees will appreciate it too.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
