Being Sick And Homeless

So, what’s the main thing a doctor will tell you when you get sick?   Go home, get in bed, and get plenty of rest.

There’s nothing much worse for a homeless person, than becoming sick, considering there is no way to rest while homeless.  There is no home, no bed to climb into, no way for someone to comfort them during their affliction.  Often times, they don’t even have money for aspirin or cough medicine, or milk of magnesium.   Homeless people feel all the pain and suffer all the symptoms, and usually for a longer time, than for those with a home.  It takes longer to fight off a cold, or recuperate from a sickness or injury.

For some homeless there may be clinics available. But even then, clinics have limited resources and staff.

I have caught a cold, and am predictably feeling miserable.  My sinuses are stuffed, I have a rattling cough, a headache, and I feel weak.  At least warm weather for the foreseeable future.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
