This morning a 5:30am wake up

This happened just this morning. Sorry that the image is not clear. According to the city ordinance, people are not allowed to sleep on the sidewalks after 5:30am. So at just a minute after, cops swarm in mass down the street ticketing all the homeless they find. Last night I arrived here later than usual, about 11:30pm, and it’s a good thing because the cops were here and telling everyone who owns tents to take them down. Evidently you can sleep on the sidewalk after 9pm, but you can’t do anything to protect yourself from the environment or from street predators. I didn’t put up my tent and just slept, or at least “tried” to sleep in my sleeping bag. I may have gotten about 2 hours worth. I awoke about 5:15am this morning, rolled up my sleeping bag, and started walking down the sidewalk when the caravan of cop cars rolled up. The homeless received tickets for illegal lodging.

There really are more humane ways to end homelessness. Sadly most people don’t feel like being humane.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
