Technology And Me

Many years ago I worked at a phone center, and we did, among other things, customer service for satellite dish tv.  It was all cutting edge technology. and some people, especially the elderly, just didn’t get it.  The system requirements were just too complicated for them to comprehend.  And I used to think, “give it up pal, just go back to your old tv set and live out your golden years with your old technology”…  lol and now technology is a billion times more complex and I’m having a very difficult time keeping up with all the changes, and some things are just beyond my comprehension. Seems every time I turn around, a new way of doing something is being created and I have to change everything so to stay current.   Did you know that you can now send money to people via paypal using their phone number?  I didn’t know that until this morning, after someone tried unsuccessfully to send a donation.   I had to spend the last half hour changing account info and setting up a new app so that I will comply with all the new shit going on.  If tech companies really want to make things more convenient for users they should stop making changes and just leave things alone for a while. 
About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
