Preparing To Leave

In the morning of April 1st 2015, the shelter tent will officially close, and every homeless person within will pack up the last of their possessions and leave, never to return.  The city has decided to not reopen the winter shelters come next fall.

I have moved all my things, save a few clothing items, and my backpack, to a storage facility. From what I learned last summer, it’s better to not haul all your things around, day after day.

Most everyone is making arrangements for when the shelter closes.  Some have received housing grants or financial aid to get into apartments.  Others who have applied but never received any support, are now making other arrangements, all while still hoping for something to materialize in the next two days.

Some are planning to pool resources and rent some cheap housing together.  Those with less resources are making plans to head to Mexico where everything, including housing, is cheaper.

Fair wells and phone number exchanges are now common around the shelter.  Others have been  spending every day this past week in a drunken stupor.

I’ve just been hoping to get over this damn cold and sinus infection before returning to the streets.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
