Home(less) Invasion

I had been sleeping in my tent again after having some things stolen from me, a while back, while I slept.

Night before last I was awakened to the sound of someone trying to get into my tent.  There were two black dudes, street predator types who usually wander around areas frequented by the homeless, bullying the people, stealing from them, and sometimes worse. Some can end up in the hospital due to encounters with these characters.

One of them was feeling around for the zipper tab on the tent (used to open the flap door).  the fabric of the tent makes a certain noise, and was loud enough to wake me.  Being that my head was mere inches away from this also helped.

Haven given a lot of thought to how I’d respond to such an event, I was pretty much ready.  I keep a pointy weapon nearby and I know exactly where it is at all times. I reached for it immediately. turned over from my sleeping position, crouched on my knees facing the tent door.  I didn’t yell, but said loudly, firmly, so they could hear me outside the tent,”Go Away”.  They had been talking to each other when I awoke but didn’t get the gist of what they were saying.   When I spoke, one of them said to the other, “who the fuck is that?”   I then said, in the same firm voice, “someone who wants to get some sleep.”

“He says he wants to sleep,” said they other guy.  They then paused for a moment, I guess thinking of what to do next. For whatever reason, perhaps because the element of surprise was no long on their side, they decided to walk away.  They started talking to each other again as they walked, I couldn’t quite make out what they were saying. I looked at the time, it was 1:38am.

After a while I felt safe enough to lie back down, and I got a bit more sleep before time to get up.

Last night, I just had this feeling that they might return.  So, I stayed up all night, moving from one 24hour place to the next, trying to not wear out my welcome with any of them.  I got no sleep last night.

This morning I went to my storage rental unit, shut myself inside of it and sat down on a folding chair.  Only a half hour later there was a banging on the metal door.  It was the manager of the storage facility telling me that I was not allowed to sleep inside the unit.  As soon as I sat on the chair, I’d fallen asleep.   He knew I was in there because I snore like a bear.  He told me it was just a warning, but that I’d be kicked out of the storage place if I did it again.

I’ve been spending the rest of today attempting to stay awake.  Tonight, I’ll have no choice but to set up my tent again and try to get desperately needed sleep.  If I’m lucky, they’ll leave me alone.  I’m not always so lucky.

And now this message:   If you benefit in any way by reading my blog on homelessness, please show your support by clicking on the paypal button on this webpage and making a financial contribution  Thank you

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
