Again With This Crap

The past few nights have been relatively quiet and I’d been able to catch up on some sleep.  But last night someone came by my tent as I was drifting off to sleep, and kicked at it.   As is my usual response, I yelled, “HEY!” in a gruff voice.  It usually scares people off.  But last night, after my “HEY!” the person who kicked my tent just yelled it back at me, and then attempted to turn the tent over.  There was too much stuff inside for that to happen.  And as soon as that failed, I could hear the guy running off.  I wanted to catch the guy but the damn zipper to the tent flap door stuck.  He was out of sight by the time I got out of the tent.  Thankfully the tent assembly, though light weight, is strong and resilient against strong winds and harassing drunks.  The tent poles had come loose from their pinnings, but the tent still stood, though a bit askew.

I fixed the tent and stood outside it for a while, watching to see if anyone was coming back for more. After a half hour, I got back into the tent and tried, not so successfully, to fall back asleep. (I have taught myself to sleep with my sharp pointy defense thing in my hand, just for such instances,)  Then about 4am I was again awakened bysomeone making noise.  It sounded like the guy from before, but I wasn’t sure.  He was making a high pitched whining sound.  I was out of my tent within a few quick seconds, pointy thing still in hand, and tucked in my pocket.  A couple people were milling about but they did not seem to be interested in me.  I walked around for a while, though not out of sight of the tent, saw some people who were hiding in the shadows, but no culprit.

A few minutes later I heard the familiar sound of crews power washing the sidewalks.  They come around about once a week or so.  They are good at pushing dirt from one side of the sidewalk to the other.  Anyway, I could tell they’d be coming down my street soon enough so I decided to just pack up and get started on the day.  It was 4:30am by this time. McDonalds had already been open a 1/2 hour.

There is a chance this person will come back tonight.  I’ll try to be prepared.  Hopefully, instead, I’ll be able to get some sleep, and this stuff won’t escalate.

I always try to set camp around other homeless people because of the added security.   And usually at this location there are a handful of others.  But I was the only homeless person sleeping in the area.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
