Morning Is Always A Welcomed Sight

There was no small amount of anxiety whist setting up camp last night. But with no other option, I headed to my spot of sidewalk – after the cafe closed for the night at 11pm.  I was thankful to see one person already sleeping near by, hopefully a deterrent to the random passing miscreant.

Revelry these nights seems more intense.  The weather has finally turned warm, and school is over for the season. Youthful exuberance and alcohol makes every one loud and obnoxious, and for some, their genetic design for assholian potential is electrified, a la Frankenstein’s Monster.

And yet nothing happened to me or my tent last night.  Still it was difficult staying asleep with road traffic and people passing close by, and the fear of something happening.

At 4am I awoke to urinate, after which I stepped out of the tent, so the empty the cup, I then became aware of two young men walking along the sidewalk on the other side of the street, yelling and growling, and aggressively displaying their dominance over the inanimate objects they passed.

They punched a car and then bent back the hatch to it’s gas cap.  They kicked and jumped on the metal gates that protected shops from looters, remarking how such things did not deter them – all while peppering their language with profanities and laughing.

If I had not been standing next to my tent as they neared,  the tent may have become their next target.   I got back into my tent and they continued on.   Once past the immediate area they started shouting, “Wake up! Time to get up!” at the few trying to sleep in the vicinity.   A moment later and they were out of sight and sound.  Following this, I enjoyed two hours straight of peaceful sleep.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
