Be Kind

Be kind to homeless people.  The root word of kind is “kin” which means family.  When you are being kind to someone, you are treating them like family.   So often I hear from people looking for family members who have become homeless.  They are looking for them so to bring them back home, to help them overcome their problems, to have them back in the family fold.

Sadly, people will treat a homeless stranger with indifference, and perhaps even a bit of disdain.  Why being family makes a difference is something I’ve never really understood.  The person is still in need of help, whether or not they are in your blood line.

Please, when considering the needs of the homeless, and what you should do to help, always be kind.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
