No Sleep Zone

I have gone long periods without sleep before, and with my apnea my body is fairly accustom to not getting sleep, or at least good sleep, for long periods of time.  Well, it’s now Sunday afternoon and I haven’t slept since I woke up Tuesday morning.  I don’t even feel sleepy.  Sure, a few times I have  nodded off  while doing something like writing a blog post, but I always wake back up again just a few minutes later.   Given that my body is in “stay awake” mode, whenever I finally find myself in a place to get sleep, I probably won’t be able to.

Like today, I knew it would be a long shot, but I went to the beach with my tent.  There were many other tents along the beach.  I set mine up and crawled inside, and although a bit warm, I figured it would be conducive to sleep, but I lied there for an hour without a single sleepy feeling.  After this first hour passed, I then opened the front flap to let a breeze come through.  And a few minutes later, the cops arrived on ATVs.  They told me that tents wee not allowed at the beach.  (oh what a long way we’ve come from the days where people could actually drive trailers onto the beach sand.)

Well, as I was taking my tent down a fellow homeless traveler came up and asked me what happened.  He told me that earlier today, at about 5:30 am, some friends had received tickets for sleeping on the beach.

Only the homeless could have such evil intent as to want to sleep on the beach, eh?

For about 65 dollars you could get me into the cheapest hotel in downtown for the night..  IM me for details about that.

Oh, one thing I did get today was a good sunburn.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
