Reaching The Bottom

Despite the respite I had last week, after three days back on the streets I was feeling as miserable as ever, and having a very hard time staying awake.  I can now estimate how long I sleep while in McDonalds by the amount of drool I find on my t-shirt when I wake up.   After all this time of waiting for an outreach social worker to find me on the street, I went looking for one myself.   Found Kelly McKnight who is “the” homeless outreach worker for San Diego.  I talked with her and some people from PATH.  They will allow me to have a cot in their facility tonight,  and will try to get me a permanent spot in their 3 month program.

It is interesting how different people have different thresholds for the difficulties of living on the streets.  Mine is pretty low compared to some others.  How some people can go for years on the streets without ever requesting the relief of shelter is beyond me.  They are the true survivors – although, they’d be better off not surviving without help so much.  God bless em.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
