The Test Results Are Back

A month ago I was accepted into a 90 day interim housing program.  First thing to qualify for it was a health check up, specifically I was required to get a TB test.  When I saw the people in the clinic they said I had high blood pressure, (something I already knew and have had for decades) and I told them about my swelling legs and sleep deprivation.  A chest X-ray was ordered as well as blood work.  And I was prescribed some meds for high blood pressure.

It all came out fine ((big grin)).  As well as being cleared for TB HIV and HepC, I was told today that I don’t have Diabetes, and that my liver and kidneys are functioning normally.  A month ago my blood pressure was 158/109 … today it was 136/87… a marked improvement there.  Oh, and a month ago I weighed 313 lbs.  Today I weighed 301.  I imagine the reduced swelling in my legs was cause for most of that.

Yesterday I did go see a shrink and I’ll be starting therapy and I’ll be starting on Prozac for my depression today.

And last but not least – the doctor told me today that I have been approved for a sleep study for my Apnea and hopefully I’ll get a breathing machine – whatever they call those things for when you sleep.

All in all, things are looking up.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless

One comment

  1. Sounds like positive things are happening!

    Like

Comments are closed.

