As The Homeless Guy Contends With The Real World

So yeah, any attempt by homeless people to re-enter real life will be immediately met with real world problems, which in turn causes many homeless to retreat. They retreat because contending with real world problems without some kind of tangible pay off seems futile. If there is no carrot to be had, why tolerate the stick? The biggest problem with attempts at ending homelessness is that there are not enough carrots to go around – if you get my meaning.

In a homeless dormitory full of men, as I am currently residing in, there will be many football fans. And, as football fans are known to do, they get loud about the game, everyone argues as if they were actually experts on the subject. The problem is that, in a shelter environment, we all live in very close proximity to each other with just a meter or two separating all the bunks. It also doesn’t help that there aren’t any good acoustic controls in the building. It gets really loud on game days – too loud on occasion.

Well, I made a complaint about the noise the other day and was rebuffed by my case manager – him telling me that I needed to be tolerant of the noise. This was very irksome, as you might imagine. You see, all the staff and case managers who work with the homeless in this program are all football fans themselves. Putting a damper on the clients “fun” would put a damper on their fun as well. The thing is, in every shelter I’ve stayed in, and I’ve stayed in many shelters, the general rule is that, to be respectful of others, everyone is supposed to keep the noise down. This is the only place where clients are required to put up with the disruption.

In an early session with my case manager, I did confess to having anxiety issues in regards to large crowd, and it may have been that he just assumed that because of my anxiety issues that whatever complaint I made would be an exaggeration. And so he never really listened to what I was trying to tell him. This disrespect of my concerns only exacerbated my anxiety issues and put me on edge for the rest of the day.

That afternoon I had my initial session with a therapist who was to determine the state of my mental health. Being that I was already under the strain of what happened previously that day, the session was intense and a lot of issues came out, and I had difficulty keeping my emotions in check. The next day, I saw a doctor who prescribed my meds for depression. Instead of writing me a script to carry with me to the pharmacy, he put the order in online. He told me my meds would be ready in about an hour at the CVS just down the street.

When I got to the CVS, they had no record of the doctor’s order. I went back up the hill to the clinic and they said the doctor was gone for the day. Instead, I was told that the nurse would call the order back in for me and that I should return to the pharmacy later that afternoon. When I show up at the pharmacy for the second time, they tell me that the nurse did call in the prescription for me, but that she neglected to tell them what dosage I was to receive.

In about an hour I’m gonna go back to the clinic once again and see if they can fix this issue. Being that it’s now Friday, if they can’t, it will be Monday before I can get started on my meds. It’s enough to make me depressed.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
