Random Suggestions

I think I’ll start a page here called Random Suggestions for when I think of something out of the blue about homelessness, mostly about homeless services.

My very first suggestion is regarding addictions. By far the most problematic homeless people are the addicts. The do the vast majority of law breaking among homeless people. They do nearly all of the panhandling, public intoxication, fighting, littering. They are most likely to express their anger with antisocial behavior. Certainly, they are the most self destructive. So, it makes me wonder, why does society tolerate them?

For their own sake as well as the well being of the rest of society, something more than having them spend the night in the drunk tank, every time they drink, should be in order.

I believe it would be best for everyone to create a “three strikes and you’re out” law for public intoxication. If a person cannot control their drinking (or snorting or shooting up or crack smoking) so that they end up in jail more than three times within a short period then it’s obvious they have a serious problem. They should be given a minimum year sentence in jail. This would get most of the problem homeless off the streets, and would force the addicts to sober up and learn to deal with their problems in more constructive ways.

Yes, I understand how such a law would never be created because there are too many city VIPs, Judges, Bankers, and other upstanding pillars of the community, (all being protected by their cronies) who would also get caught up in this law.

About Kevin Barbieux

I have been diagnosed as being chronically homeless. I write about my experiences and opinions of being homeless
